Alumnae In the News

Read about the inspiring achievements of Douglass alumnae and spread the news about their accomplishments.

Mary I. DiMartino ’85: Douglass alumna Mary DiMartino ’85, executive director of J.P. Morgan Securities, LLC, will join the Rutgers University Board of Governors for the term running from July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2025. A Lawrenceville, N.J., resident, Mary has served as chair of the Rutgers Board of Trustees and on the trustees’ executive committee, nominating committee and task force on assessment. She also has served on the Board of Governors’ committees on audit, athletics and health affairs. Prior to joining the Board of Trustees, Mary served as a member of the AADC Board and as a member of the Executive Committee.


Tina Gordon 72 WOA Tina B. Gordon ’72: Douglass alumna Tina B. Gordon ’72 has been named a recipient of a 38th Annual New Jersey Women of Achievement Award sponsored by the New Jersey State Federation of Women’s Clubs of GFWC and Douglass Residential College and will receive the award on May 6, 2019. Tina is an extraordinary Douglass alumnae leader. She has served in various leadership positions on the AADC Board of Directors for more than a decade, including as a two-term AADC President and currently as Vice President of Marketing and Communications. In addition, Tina is active with the Cagers Club – the Rutgers Women’s Basketball Fan Club – and served on the Board of the Community Visiting Nurse Association of Somerset and Middlesex Counties in New Jersey for 30 years, including two terms as president. She is also being recognized for a distinguished 34-year career in communications at Johnson & Johnson in New Brunswick. She has led the AADC to increased levels of success and is instrumental in keeping alumnae informed and connected. The AADC salutes Tina in recognition of her outstanding leadership and contributions to the citizens of New Jersey.


linda eppsLinda Caldwell Epps ’73: Throughout her career, Linda J. Caldwell Epps ’73 has been a leader dedicated to public service. She recently received the 2019 Beulah Oliphant Award from the Old Barracks Association in Trenton, NJ, in recognition of her dedication to New Jersey history by serving as a consultant for numerous museums and institutions, leading the charge for diversity and equity in higher education, and serving as the former president and CEO of the New Jersey Historical Society and current president and CEO of 1804 Consultants. Linda is an active alumna who was elected to serve on the AADC Board of Directors Executive Committee as Vice President for Development for the term beginning July 1, 2019 thru June 30, 2021. She was inducted into the AADC Society of Excellence in 2014. She served as Chair of the AADC 95th Anniversary Committee and was instrumental in the outstandng success of the AADC Forward Together Gala celebration in April 2018, of which she was also a Gold Sponsor.


Dr. Gertrude M. Clarke ’54: Dr. Clarke was honored for her life’s work in science and technology with the Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by the Board of Trustees of the New Jersey Inventors Hall of Fame on April 22, at the Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory in Princeton, NJ. She received a plaque commemorating her lifetime achievements that read: “In recognition of lifetime contributions to science education, furthering industry-education cooperation, honoring New Jersey Inventors and contributing to STEM education nationwide.” The trustees of the NJIHoF also presented Dr. Clarke – Gert to those who know her – with a “Book of Remembrance,” containing “comments and memories of time spent in work or leisure activities” with her. She is now retired and serves as President Emerita of the NJIHoF Board of Trustees. Dr. Clarke was inducted into the AADC Society of Excellence in 1979. Her work in connecting a medical proton beam to localized cancers led to enhanced precision in numerous treatments.


Kathi Love ‘75: Kathi was recently appointed to the Board of Directors for Comscore, Inc., a media measurement and analytics company. She has over 30 years of industry experience. Previously, she served as president and CEO of GfK MRI for 13 years and held executive leadership positions at EMAP Petersen USA. Kathi was instrumental in developing and launching the highly successful AADC Mabel’s Alumnae Mentoring Program in 2016, part of the AADC Women’s Life-long Learning Initiative. She serves as Chair and a Mentor. A professional executive coach with her own practice, Motherwell Resources LLC, Kathi has made presentations and conducted seminars at Alumnae Reunion Weekend and the Victoria Dabrowski Schmidt ’42 Workplace and Professional Development Symposium, where she has also donated coaching sessions. Kathi is past chair of the AADC Strategic Planning Committee.


Mary Norris ’74: The author of the best-selling “The Comma Queen,” Mary Norris ’74 has a new book out as of March 2019 called, “It’s Greek to Me.” The Amazon website says this about the book: “Filled with Norris’s memorable encounters with Greek words, Greek gods, Greek wine—and more than a few Greek men—Greek to Me is the Comma Queen’s fresh take on Greece and the exotic yet strangely familiar language that so deeply influences our own.” Mary delivered the 2016 Zagoren lecture, one of the AADC’s special programs.


Sharon Matlofsky Karmazin ’67: As one of the producers of a new Broadway show, “Ain’t Too Proud to Beg: The Life and Times of the Temptations,” Sharon Matlofsky Karmazin ’67 continues to make her mark as a Broadway producer. The musical traces the formation of the group, its challenges and, most importantly, its music. If you love Motown, you will love this exciting new show. The AADC New York Regional Connection Group hosted a Brunch and Broadway Gathering on March 31, to attend a performance and raved about the show. Sharon is a four-time Tony Award winner and producer of 25 Broadway shows, including “Dear Evan Hansen,” “Network,” “Burn This” and “The Band’s Visit.” Sharon is an active alumna and a member of the AADC Society of Excellence.


Cheri Beasley ’88: North Carolina Supreme Court Justice Cheri Beasley ‘88 was named in February 2019 to serve as Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court, becoming the first African-American woman to lead the state’s highest court. With a judicial career spanning some 20 years, Justice Beasley has shaped jurisprudence and is known as a fair and experienced jurist. Justice Beasley was inducted into the AADC Society of Excellence in 2015, is active with the AADC North Carolina Regional Connection Group in Raleigh/Durham, and has welcomed alumnae into her home for a group gathering. Most recently, she returned to campus to celebrate her milestone 30th Reunion, to serve as a panelist at AADC Alumnae Reunion Weekend 2018 and to celebrate at the AADC 95th Anniversary Forward Together Gala.


Dr. Ellen J. MacKenzie ’72: Douglass alumna Dr. Ellen J. MacKenzie ’72, Ph.D., ScM, was named Dean of Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health in 2017, and is the first woman to serve in this leadership role. She delivered the Zagoren Lecture hosted by the AADC on March 12, 2019. Dr. MacKenzie, a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, is a leading injury prevention and trauma services research expert. The school’s announcement notes her undergraduate days, saying, “MacKenzie’s path to trauma care can be traced back to her foundation interest in numbers. The Long Island native majored in mathematics at Douglass College before diving into the world of bio-statistics as a Ph.D. student, then faculty member, at Johns Hopkins in the late 1970s.”